The wait list for the following counties is currently closed. There is no time frame for reopening these counties at this time.

  • Bell
  • Brazos
  • Burleson
  • Coryell
  • Falls
  • Lampass
  • Leon
  • Limestone
  • Madison
  • McLennan
  • Milam
  • Mills
  • Robertson
  • San Saba

For more information regarding these counties please e-mail

We are diligently working through the current waitlist and waitlist participants will be contacted in January and July of each year.

This rebate program is not retroactive. All safe rooms will need to be paid for out of pocket prior to receiving rebate. Current reimbursement time is between 8-12 months.

Council of Governments

Heart of Texas

Program acceptance takes place in January and July. Since this is a rebate program, you will need to pay for the total cost of your safe room out-of-pocket.

Furthermore, this safe room rebate program is not retroactive.Read more below for contact info:

Rebates and Vouchers for In-Ground Shelters all of the following rebate organizations have active rebate funding.              
Courtney Mitchell
Phone: 817.884.2850
Attn: Melissa Patterson 100 E. Weatherford St.
Fort Worth, TX 76196
Abilene Area West Central Texas Regional
Wendy Allen
Phone: 325.672.8544
Fax: 325.675.5214
3702 Loop 322 Abilene TX 79602
Texas Panhandle Area
Panhandle regional Planning commission
Phone: 806.372.3381
Fax: 806.373.3268
PO Box 9257 Amarillo, TX 79105
415 W. 8th Ave. 79101
The following rebate organizations have no funding at this time
Cooke County EM
Ray Fletcher
301 South Chestnut Gainsville, Tx 76240
Phone: (940) 668-5400
Grayson County Rebate
Grayson County Safe Room Rebate Program Office
Phone: 903.813.5215
Fannin County Rebate
Darrell Brewer
Phone: 903.640.8484
Fax: 902.583.7811
2375 Silo Rd Bonham, TX 75418
Lubbock AreaSouth Plains Association of Governments
Phone: 806.687.0940
Fax: 806.765.9544
PO Box 3730 Freedom Station Lubbock, TX 79452 
Not sure how to contact your local planning commission?
We can help. Contact us today. 972-955-5775